Leave a Discord server

Discord stock photo 7


Edgar Cervantes / Android Authority

Discord servers are communities where all kinds of different users can come together. Some servers are found randomly, some can be seen on other websites like Reddit and YouTube, and others are only accessible through member invites. Some servers are geared towards gamers, while others focus on a number of other topics. Now there may come a time when you want to leave a particular server. Maybe you’re getting tired of all the notifications that don’t apply to you, or you just want to reduce all those servers that appear in your list. Be that as it may, here’s how to get out of any Discord server.

Read more: Add friends on Discord

FAST ANSWER

To leave a Discord server, right-click on its icon in the list on the left side of the Discord desktop app. Then click on the red Leave Server button.

SKIP TO IMPORTANT SECTIONS

Leave a Discord server

Whenever you join someone else’s Discord server, you’re just a few clicks away from being able to leave. You are never stuck with staying on a server unless that server is yours.

desktop

Open Discord on your computer and locate the server you want to leave in the left-most sidebar. Right click on that server.

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

When you right-click on that server’s icon, a list of options will appear. In that list, click Leave Server.

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

A pop-up warning box will appear. Click the red Leave Server button again to leave that Discord server.

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Android and iOS

Discord has an incredible mobile app that most people use just as much as the desktop version. To leave a server, first tap that server’s icon in the server list on the far left side of the app.

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Press the ⠇ button in the server banner at the top of the app. It can sometimes be difficult to recognize.

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Scroll down until you see the Leave Server button and press it. In the next popup, tap the red Leave Server button.

Leave a Discord server you created

It can be a pain to leave a server you made yourself on Discord. As you’ll soon discover, there’s no Leave Server option in the drop-down list when you right-click on your own Discord server.

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

If you own a Discord server, you cannot leave it. As such, you need to be a bit handy at leaving your own server.

Transfer ownership of Discord server

Let’s say you have a lot of people on a Discord server and you want to leave the server without deleting the whole thing. This can be a bit tricky as you are not allowed to leave if you are the owner. Someone must own the server.

However, what you can do is transfer ownership of the server to another Discord user. If you no longer own the server, you can leave it just like any other server.

Step one is to go to your server. Find it in the list in the left-most sidebar.

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Click the server menu button next to your server name. This looks like a downward arrow.

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

From the drop-down menu, click Server Settings.

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Click the Members button in the menu on the left. It is located under ‘USER MANAGEMENT’.

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Under Server Members, you’ll see a list of everyone occupying your server. Find the user to whom you want to transfer ownership of the server and hover your mouse over it. Click the ⠇ button to the right of their name.

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Click Transfer Ownership.

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

In the last warning pop-up, click the confirmation slider. When it turns green, click Transfer Ownership.

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Find your Discord server in the list in the left-most sidebar. Click It.

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Click the server menu button next to your server name. This looks like a downward arrow.

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

From the drop-down menu, click Server Settings.

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Scroll through the menu on the left until you see Remove Server; Click It.

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

You will get one last warning before your server is deleted. If you’re sure you want to remove your Discord server, click Remove Server.

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

You must receive a new Discord invitation to rejoin that server. Think of it like joining a brand new server: the process is exactly the same. Unless you’ve been blocked or banned from a particular server – which is entirely possible – you can always rejoin that Discord server via invitation.

Do Discord Servers Say When You’re Leaving?

The question here is, “Will a Discord server notify other server members when you leave?” The answer to this would be no. However, if the server owner or moderators have set up a bot such as Carl Bot, leaving the server may appear as a log.

What happens if the owner of a Discord server leaves?

A server owner cannot leave unless he transfers ownership to another user. When the original server owner leaves, there will be a new one to replace them.

What happens when everyone leaves a Discord server?

When anyone, including the server owner, leaves a Discord server, that server will be closed and deleted.

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *